潜水员尝试世界纪录

在过去几年中,我们已经将Instant合金脚手架塔应用到一些有趣的地方,但是这个关于 Instant Span 500 协助潜水员尝试击败水下世界纪录的特殊故事却是头一次!故事和相关的照片绝对能让人乍舌不已,所以准备好阅读和欣赏吧!

这个故事是关于两兄弟 —— 来自爱尔兰的 PaulDeclan Devane,他们在 HSS Hire Galway 和 Instant Span 500 Towers 的帮助下,尝试击败最长外海水域水肺潜水的吉尼斯世界纪录。

这次潜水是为了纪念在2009年2月因脑肿瘤去世的年仅2岁的Cillian Devane(Declan的儿子)。潜水员的努力使他们为Cillian过世时在的Beaumon医院儿童病房和CD’s Helping Hands慈善会筹得了资金。

尝试击败世界最长开放式冷海水肺潜水的记录

许多人曾经挑战最长水下停留(在水库/泳池/水族馆等)的世界记录。然而,这次尝试是在不受控制的自然环境——爱尔兰西海岸的大西洋里进行,这使得俩兄弟暴露在低于15摄氏度的温度下。在潜水的过程中,他们无法露出水面。

吉尼斯“官方”通知潜水者,这个记录分类目前正等待成功批准通过,并且通知他们如果少于24小时则不能被接受作为首届记录——不能浮出水面,甚至没有厕所休息的选择!

独特环境下的设备

在测评完水肺潜水中可能失败的点和此次潜水需要的额外特殊设备之后,俩兄弟意识到重要的设备需要由他们的赞助商提供。

在核心设备列表中有由HSS Hire Galway 捐赠的Instant Span 500 Tower。这耗费了潜水者约3个月的时间在水下搭建出你现在从照片里看到的样子。

不像平时宣传铝合金塔时强调的优点,这个水下应用提供了安全、稳定和牢固的休息平台,让潜水员可以最小化他们的疲劳程度,并且可以安放潜水设备。

HSS Hire www.hss.ie 作为爱尔兰的领先工厂和工具设备供应商之一,也加入了对潜水员的援助,捐赠了 Instant Span 500 Towers,他们在爱尔兰的许多分店都销售和租赁此产品。

现场

世界记录尝试将在爱尔兰最佳的PADI(潜水教练职业协会)水肺潜水中心——Scubadive West进行。坐落于美丽的Killary峡湾(爱尔兰和英国唯一的一个峡湾),Scubadive West有10英里长,中部有40米宽,每一边都被高山环绕,全年都为潜水者提供安全场所。由于其位置如此理想,许多其它潜水学校也在Scubadive West完成他们的潜水训练。

结果

Devane 兄弟在10月10日早上10点整进入了水面。遗憾的是,由于阀门问题Paul不得不出水,但是他在不适的情况下仍然在水底呆了大约8个小时。Declan一共呆了 12 个小时,恰好在晚上 10 点前出水,带有中度低温!

虽然两位潜水员没有在水底呆满希望的时间,但是他们完成了此次潜水的两大主要目标

  1. 纪念 Cillian Devane
  2. 为爱尔兰西部的慈善基金会 CDs Helping Hands 和都柏林 Beaumont 医院的圣拉斐尔儿童病房筹集关注度和资金。

由于朋友、家庭、同事和他们赞助商的慷慨,两兄弟一共在这个地区筹得了20,000欧元。

志在必得!

俩兄弟正在和吉尼斯联系中,要求他们审核他们的记录,因为水温非常的低,所以这次 12 小时的潜水非常特殊。

此外,这两名充满决心的男人将不会放弃 —— 他们尝试明年再一次挑战记录。我们 Instant UpRight 对这两名有惊人决心的男人充满信心。

Instant UpRight 感谢 HSS Hire 与我们分享这个独特的应用。

Divers World Record Attempt

Over the years we have covered some interesting applications for Instant Alloy Towers but this extraordinary story of Instant Span 500 assisting divers in an attempt to beat an underwater world record is a first! The story and the accompanying photography definitely have the wow factor so read and enjoy!

This is the story of two brothers – Paul and Declan Devane from Ireland who with the help of HSS Hire Galway and Instant Span 500 Towers, attempted to beat the Guinness World Record for the Longest, Open Sea Water Scuba Dive.

The Dive was carried out in memory of Cillian Devane (Declan’s son) who died of a brain tumor in February 2009 aged just two years old. The diver’s efforts helped to raise funds for the Children’s Ward at Beaumont Hospital where Cillian died and CD’s Helping Hands Charity.

The Attempt for the World’s Longest Open Cold Salt Water Scuba Dive

There have been many world record attempts for the longest time spent underwater (in tanks/pools/aquariums etc.) This attempt however took place in the uncontrolled natural environment of the Atlantic Ocean off the West coast of Ireland, exposing the brothers to prolonged exposure and temperatures of less than 15 degrees centigrade. They were unable to break the surface of the water at any time during the dive.

‘Officially’ Guinness informed the divers that this record category is currently awaiting a successful claim and informed them that no claim of less than 24 hours would be accepted as the inaugural record…….without surfacing…..and without the option of toilet breaks!

Equipment for a Unique Environment

Following a review of potential failure points in SCUBA diving and the additional unique requirements of this dive, the brothers identified the key equipment to be provided by their sponsors.

Amongst the list of essential equipment was the Instant Span 500 Tower which was donated by HSS Hire Galway. It took almost three months for the divers to build what you see in the photographs underwater.

Unlike the usual benefits promoted for alloy towers, this underwater application provided a secure, stable and stationary resting platform for the divers to minimize their fatigue and a place to rest their diving equipment.

HSS Hire www.hss.ie one of Ireland’s leading providers of plant and tool equipment came to the divers’ rescue by donating the Instant Span 500 Towers which are sold and rented from their many branches in Ireland.

On Location

The World Record Attempt took place in Scubadive West, Ireland’s most perfectly located PADI (Professional Association of Diving Instructors) scuba dive centre. Idyllically situated on the sheltered Killary Fjord (the only Fjord in Ireland or the UK), Scubadive West is 10 miles long, has a depth of 40m in the middle and is surrounded either side by high mountains. Giving sheltered diving all year round and so ideal is their location, that many other dive schools complete their training dives at Scubadive West.

The Results

The Devane brothers entered the water on the morning of 10th October at 10.00am. Unfortunately, Paul had to leave the water due to a valve problem but he lasted almost 8 hours underwater despite the discomfort. Declan managed a total of 12 hours and left the water just before 10pm with moderate hypothermia!

Whilst the two divers did not stay underwater as long as they had hoped, they did fulfill the two main aims of the dive

  1. To honour Cillian Devane’s memory
  2. To raise awareness and funds for the West of Ireland Charity CDs Helping Hands and St. Raphael’s Children’s Ward at Beaumont Hospital, Dublin.

Together the two brothers with the generosity of friends, family, colleagues and their sponsors raised in the region of 20,000 Euro.

Determined to Win!

The two brothers are in contact with Guinness requesting them to review their record based on advice given that 12 hours is an exceptional dive given the temperature of the water.

What’s more, these two determined men will not give up – they are attempting to have another crack at the record next year. We at Instant UpRight have full faith in these two amazing and determined men.

Instant UpRight would like thank HSS Hire for sharing this unique application with us.